26 octobre 2009 1 26 /10 /octobre /2009 06:00
Pianist: Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) - Trumpeter: Leonid Yuriev (1913-1971) - Conductor: Maybe Aleksandr Gauk (1893-1963) - Orchestra: Probably Leningrad Philharmonic - Venue: Moscow Conservatory "Great Hall" - Date: Some time after 1933, October 15th, and, most likely, before the "official ban" of early 1936. So, 1934-1935. - Piano: Bechstein, E270.

This is the famous surviving video of young Shostakovich playing his first piano concerto. Footage is from 1934 or 1935 (I don't know for sure (I remember hearing about those years, but if anyone knows for sure, please let me know) -- definitely not on or before this concerto's premiere on October 15th, 1933, which happened at the Leningrad Philharmonic Hall). This performance is from Moscow Conservatory's Bol'shoi Zal. We get to hear the very end of that performance (starting with the piano cadenza) - the only footage that, supposedly, survives.
Video and audio was taken from a DVD of a movie called "Sonata for Viola". In that movie (and most likely the way the original footage was put together) most of concerto video doesn't coincide with audio and audio is played too fast (resulting in a raised pitch). So, I corrected as much as I could. (The frame rate of this video is 28.534 fps, and it seems to work fine after upload).

There is even one place (towards the end of the final "stride" cadenza) where the video footage seems to have come from a different performance! (maybe a rehearsal). He hits (wrong) notes that cannot be heard on the audio. (So I tweaked it a bit there).

Partager cet article

Repost 0



  • : internationalnews
  • internationalnews
  • : Un site d'information et de réflexion sur l'actualité internationale, le nouvel ordre mondial, la géostratégie, la propagande, l'impérialisme, le nucléaire, l'économie, l'environnement et la culture, illustré de documentaires. Site géré par des journalistes bénévoles, sans aucune obédience politique, religieuse ou autre.
  • Contact



Dossiers les plus consultés